The Deaflympic Games, under the patronage of the International Olympic Committee, is the second oldest multi sport and cultural festival on earth with a long and proud history since the Inaugural Games in Paris in 1924.

In the years prior to 1924, International sports provided limited opportunities for deaf people. Deaf sporting leaders assembled in 1924 and agreed to establish an organisation called the Comité International des Sports des Sourds (CISS); to establish a union between all deaf National sporting federations and to draft statutes for this organisation to institute and control the quadrennial Games.

This historic meeting heralded the commencement of the Deaflympic Games movement.

The Summer and Winter Deaflympics are among the world’s fastest growing sports events. More than 3,200 deaf athletes and officials from 67 nations participated in the 20th Summer Deaflympics in Melbourne, Australia, in January 2005. Over 600 athletes and officials participated in the 16th Winter Deaflympics in Salt Lake City, United States in February 2007.

The games are built on 80 years of tradition. Organised since 1924 by the Comité International des Sports des Sourds, CISS (The International Committee of Sports for the Deaf), the first Summer Deaflympics were held in Paris. Winter Deaflympics were added in 1949. The Summer and Winter Deaflympics are sanctioned by the International Olympic Committee (IOC)

The need for separate games for deaf athletes is not just evident in the numbers of participants. Deaf athletes are distinguished from all others in their special communication needs on the sports field, as well as in the social interaction that is an equally vital part of the games.


1924 Paris, France
1928 Amsterdam, Holland
1931 Nurenberg, Germany
1935 London, United Kingdom
1939 Stockholm, Sweden
1949 Copenhagen, Denmark
1953 Brussels, Belgium
1957 Milan, Italy
1961 Helsinki, Finland
1965 Washington DC, United States of America
1969 Belgrade, Serbia
1973 Malmo, Sweden
1977 Bucharest, Hungary
1981 Koln, Germany
1985 Los Angeles, United States of America
1989 Christchurch, New Zealand
1993 Sofia, Bulgaria
1997 Copenhagen, Denmark
2001 Rome, Italy
2005 Melbourne, Australia
2009 Taiwan, Taipei
2013 Sofia, Bulgaria

2017 Samsun, Turkey


1949 Seefeld, Austria
1953 Oslo, Norway
1955 Oberammergau, Germany
1959 Montana-Vermala, Switzerland
1963 Are, Sweden
1967 Berchtesgaden, Germany
1971 Abelboden, Switzerland
1975 Lake Placid, United States of America
1979 Meribel, France
1983 Madonna di Campiglio, Italy
1987 Oslo, Norway
1991 Banff, Canada
1995 Yllas, Finland
1999 Davos, Switzerland
2003 Sundsvall, Sweden
2007 Salt Lake, United States of America
2011 High Tatras, Slovenia (cancelled)
2015 Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia